YTC (Yarn To Coat) Project

Crochet work is not often referred to as fabric, but that is exactly what it is. I have found that tunisian crochet makes a wonderful, dense fabric. A fabric that transforms nicley when it is felted. My intention is to make panels of felted tunisian fabric into a coat. I made one panel, but it was too short and thick. It made a very nice rug, which I donated to a senior center. I am pretty sure that this second panel will felt to the right thickness and proportions.

My goal is to make three coats and coordinating hats, scarves, and gloves for myself. Making a thinner fabric takes twice as long as the thicker one. Chances are that I will not have all the fabric panels completed until early summer. I will post about my progress as I go along. I will not start any other crochet or knitting projects until after I have completed the coat. However, I will be working on 3D printing projects before the coat is completed, which I will post.
Leave a Reply

